It does not receive public funding
Editor in chief:

Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram

David Sassoli elected president of the European Parliament

He's got 345 votes at the second voting

The former RAI journalist and Euro MP of Democratic Party David Sassoli was elected to the presidency of the European Parliament. He was elected at the second vote with 345 votes against the necessary majority of 334 votes and will succeed to Antonio Tajani. "All of you will understand my excitement at this moment in assuming the presidency of the EU Parliament. I thank President Tajani for the work he has done, for his great commitment and dedication to this institution", Sassoli said, taking the floor immediately after the announcement of his election, then greeted by a long applause of the hemycicle. Yesterday the representatives of the 28 countries elected the leaders of the European institutions for the next five years: the German popular defense minister Ursula Von der Leyen as president of the Commission, the French Christine Lagarde as head of the ECB, the liberal Belgian Charles Michel Presidency of the European Council and Spanish Socialist Josep Borrell as High Representative of Foreign Policy.

DDB - 1222769

AVIONEWS - World Aeronautical Press Agency